March 8 2008

πŸ™‚

πŸ˜€

*All smiles*

I went to the beach today, to meet some of my PG friends. Many of us, who belonged to the lost world (that’s the name of the ladies hostel in our college) are very much in Chennai, but we rarely get to meet, or don’t meet at all, and everytime we talked over the phone, we kept promising ourselves that we will meet some time, and send ‘sorry da, I’ve got some work at home’ types of messages on the day we planned to meet. Things worked finally, though a few girls backed off, five of us managed to make it.. What an evening it was!πŸ™‚ I missed all the laughter and fun we used to have and it was nice to see the good old faces after a long time. We started our typical mokkai sessions with ‘beach manga’ and ice creams.

Many of them have to travel a lot and were talking about the ‘corporate culture’ in their respective work places. Alhamdhulillah, I am glad that we don’t have such ‘cultures’ in our place. Had it been there, you would have found another post on the heights of vettiness..πŸ˜€ Noticing the change in some of them, I thought the first thing that any girl would spend from her salary is on her looks, and it is quite unacceptable for me to easily shell out Rs 3-4 thousands on straightening the hair and another Rs 500 on shampoos and conditioners to ‘maintain’ them. :O (I wish I can use some proper smileys here. Any suggestions?)

One of my friends asked if we are happy about our work. Well most of us said we did, pretty much into what we wanted to be. Then they shared a lot of things, about streching beyond the work hours, travelling, meeting clients, and how young women are treated by some clients. My brother called, it was time and we left the place promising that we will meet often, insha Allah.

——

Well if you’re wondering what has this to do with the Woman’s day, it is absolutely nothing!πŸ˜€ All these woman’s day, mother’s day, father’s day, tea kada payyan’s day and poo kada aaya’s day, andha day, indha day mean nothing to me.πŸ˜€ .

But there is one thing that I thought I will leave on my blog today. Men are good at maintaining their contacts with friends. It is difficult for women.😦

5 Responses to “March 8 2008”

  1. Jaffer Says:

    “Men are good at maintaining their contacts with friends. It is difficult for women. :(“

    Actually it’s not always so. If you ask most men, they’ll say it’s the other way around.

    It totally depends how close you are as friends and how much you share and it all comes down to how often you communicate.

  2. the victorious.. Says:

    @ br Jaffer,

    When I say maintaining contacts, it means meeting your friends often. Atleast once in a while. But that is the case with us. Many of my school friends are married and have babies, I see how difficult it is for them to come out and meet. But men here atleast meet once in a week or month.

    That is the sad reality. I can only complain here, since we cannot meet in the late evenings, we have to be very choosy about the place we meet and worst of all, Sunday is the only day when many of us are free, but it is not so safe to go out Sundays. Meeting amidst all this is indeed very difficult.😦

  3. Arun Sundar Says:

    Meeting old friends is always a spl experience – its like re-living those good old days, which we yearn for in the present!

    And I agree with u on the “Men are good at maintaining their contacts with friends”.

  4. the victorious.. Says:

    reliving those good old days.. i cant wait for the convo!

  5. Raz Says:

    thnks for dropping by gal!πŸ™‚ i ve tagged u! check my blog. i ve blog rolled u too!

Leave a Reply

